PFI Standards Program

On November 8, 2011, the Pellet Fuels Institute announced the launch of the PFI Standards Program, a third-party accreditation program providing specifications for residential and commercial-grade fuel.

The American Lumber Standard Committee (ALSC) serves as the program’s accreditation body, providing program implementation and enforcement, as well as facilitating program enrollment.

Twenty-nine companies representing 48 pellet mills have pledged their intent to enroll in the program. If you plan to enroll in the program, show your support by signing the pledge.

Click here for information on how to enroll in the program and for a list of participating mills.

Program Documents

There are three main documents that serve as the basis of the program. These documents have been modified over the last year and contain a variety of new information.

Pellet Fuels Institute Standard Specification for Residential/Commercial Densified Fuel This document is the backbone of the program. It outlines the actual grade parameter test method requirements for densified fuels registered in the program.

Pellet Fuels Institute Residential/Commercial Densified Fuel QA/QC Handbook Provides quality control and quality assurance procedures for the production of residential /commercial densified fuels.

American Lumber Standard Committee, Incorporated, Residential/Commercial Densified Fuel Enforcement Regulations This document outlines the roles and responsibilities of the auditing agencies, the laboratories, and the oversight requirements of the Accreditation Body.

A fourth document, the North American Grading and Quality Management System for Residential/Commercial Densified Fuel, should be used as a supplemental reference tool. It outlines the roles of all program entities.

PFI Standards Background

PFI initiated redevelopment of its standards in 2005 and has implemented a program that has been proposed to be incorporated by reference into the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) New Source Performance Standards (NSPS) for Residential Wood Heaters. The EPA released its proposed NSPS on February 3, 2014.

For the purposes of the NSPS, pellets that are tested through the PFI Standards Program are assured to be qualified to a specified grade and can be properly matched to the appliances that are permitted to burn them.


Pellet Fuels Institute

American Lumber Standard Committee

Copyright © 2011 Pellet Fuels Institute | Home | Join PFI | PFI Newsletter | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map